Obion County Board of Education

Special Called Board Meeting

July 17, 2018

The Obion County Board of Education met in a special called session on July 17, 2018, at the Board office. Board Chairman, Fritz Fussell called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. Mr. Hollowell called the roll. Mr. Fritz Fussell, Mr. Brian Rainey, Ms. Keisha Hooper, Mr. Barry Adams, Mr. Kyle Baggett, Mr. Tim Britt, and Mr. Jared Poore were present. Seven members were present. There was a quorum.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Upon the recommendation of Chairman Fussell, a motion was made by Ms. Hooper to approve the agenda. Mr. Adams seconded the motion. **MOTION CARRIED.**

NEW BUSINESS

Consider/Approve 2018 – 2019 Fiscal Year Budget – Prior to a vote on the new fiscal year budget, Chairman Fussell expressed his appreciation to Finance Director Ms. Linda Carney, Dr. Leah Watkins, Department Heads, Principals, and the Board for their assistance in preparing information for the budget. After a brief discussion of budget items, a motion was made by Mr. Poore to approve the 2018 – 2019 Fiscal Year Budget. Ms. Hooper seconded the motion. **MOTION CARRIED.**

ANNOUNCEMENTS/ADJOURN

Chairman Fussell stated that he is excited about the arrival of new Director of Schools, Dr. Leah Watkins. Additionally, he expressed his appreciation to everyone involved in the budget process for their focus on the best possible services for the students in the Obion County School System.

Mr. Britt expressed his thanks to Mr. Hollowell and Ms. Hamilton for serving as Co-Interim Directors; to Ms. Linda Carney for preparing the new budget; and to Dr. Watkins for accepting the Director of Schools position.

Mr. Adams made an inquiry to Dr. Watkins in regard to moral support when she presents the new budget to the County Commissioners. Dr. Watkins

state that she would be pleased to have the Board members in attendance at the upcoming meeting.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:10 p.m.

The entire meeting was recorded and stored as an electronic copy.

The minutes were taken and typed by Diane Terry.

Fritz Fussell, Chairman Dr. Leah Watkins, Director of Schools